top of page
  • Writer's pictureGabby Molite

"The Greatest Showman's" Greatest Theme


(light spoilers ahead)


To say I loved The Greatest Showman would be a major understatement. I've been listening to the soundtrack on repeat since the day I saw it and I'm sure I'm not alone! Not only is the music incredible, but it emotionally resonates with almost every audience. Plus it is the return of musical Zefron! And who doesn't love Zac Efron?


Watching the movie I couldn't shake an attachment to Zefron's character Phillip Carlyle. Phillip is a high society man with a trust fund and a reputation. Hugh Jackman's character P. T. Barnum (aka the greatest showman) recruits Phillip as his protégé in an attempt to give his show some validity in higher society. Expectedly, Phillip is reluctant to give up everything for the circus life.


During the song "The Other Side" Barnum attempts to convince Phillip that joining his show would give Phillip a better life; the kind of life he's always wanted but too scared to reach for. Here are a few of Efron's lyrics responding to Barnum's offer:


Don't you know that I'm okay with this uptown part I get to play 'Cause I got what I need and I don't want to take the ride I don't need to see the other side So go and do like you do I'm good to do like me Ain't in a cage, so I don't need to take the key Can't you see I'm doing fine I don't need to see the other side


The Greatest Showman has many themes, not the least of which is taking risks. In this song Barnum is asking Phillip to take the greatest risk of all by giving up everything for something he says is better. This film is without a doubt a spiritual movie, and I believe Phillip's journey is symbolic of someone stepping into Christianity.


His reluctance and fear mirror the same attitude we often have: 'Sure, my life may not be perfect, but God, can't you see I'm doing fine?' We cling to our comforts because we are scared of what the other side may bring. Too often we find ourselves like Zefron, content to settle for less because we are terrified of what jumping in 100% will look like. But thankfully Phillip's story doesn't end there.


With some monetary convincing, Phillip joins Barnum and together they run the most controversial, experimental, unconventional show around. Phillip dives head first into a crazy new life. In a very short time he takes over the majority of work on the show and becomes incredibly attached to the business and people his new life surrounds him with.


We unfortunately don't get to see a lot of his transition, but we see the end result of his choice. In one of the final scenes Phillip says this to Barnum:


"You know Barnum, when I first met you, I had an inheritance, knew who I am, and an invitation to every party in town. And now thanks to you, all that's gone. All that's left is friendship, love, and a work that I adore. You brought joy into my life."


Barnum knew that Phillip's old life wasn't the best he could do. By taking a leap of faith, Phillip gains a better life than he could have imagined. Suddenly all the glamour of his old self -- the things he clung to for satisfaction and happiness -- no longer have such a hold on him.


Friends, if you're in same place as Phillip was, living a life where you're "doing fine" but feeling like maybe there's more, I'm excited to tell you there is a circus you can join that will bring joy beyond what you can imagine. It may not look like what you expect, and following Jesus may mean risking everything, but it's so worth the risk. #LifeLessonsfromZefron


Until next time,

Gabby

112 views0 comments
bottom of page