top of page
  • Writer's pictureGabby Molite

Let's Gab About Disney!

Updated: Sep 20, 2023

"It's kind of fun to do the impossible." -Walt Disney

A few years back my friend Megan re-introduced me to Disney as an adult. Until that point, Disney to me was not much more than childhood memories and fun songs to sing in the car. I'd never known there was an entire community of adult Disney fans!


With Megan's help I found websites and shops and channels and pages all dedicated to fans creating Disney content. There was everything from fashion to blogs to vlogs to fan-art to merchandise, and of course, the Disney College Program. My passion for Disney went from childhood fondness to die-hard fanatic faster than you can say Mickey.


During this time of obsession and research-overload, I discovered a brand new channel on YouTube called Thingamavlogs. It was a collab-channel consisting of 4 friends (well, at the time 5 friends, but I don't talk about the Keith or Leo situations *tears*) coming together, each with their own talents and interests to create one mega-channel for Disney lovers like me!


One thing the Thingamavloggers loved to do was "Top 5 Week" where they would each post a video listing their Top 5...... you name it! It could be anything having to do with Disney or any of Disney's affiliates. I always enjoyed hearing their thoughts on what they loved about Disney and putting their opinions against my own to see how similar they were.


So that's what I'm doing today! Here are several of my "Top 5" Disney lists! Feel free to comment your own lists below, I'd love to hear what y'all think!


*None of my lists are in any particular order*

"In every job that must be done, there is an element of fun." -Mary Poppins, Mary Poppins

Being in the Disney College Program was hard work, but OH BOY was it a lot of fun! Here are my top 5 favorite things I loved about working at Disney!


1. Free park entry

Obviously the best part about working for Walt Disney World was going to Walt Disney World for free! I feel like I took full advantage of my time there and experienced everything I wanted to in the time I had :)


2. Photographing cute kids!

I loved when adorable kids were in my line or walking the street and I caught a sweet moment with their family or the magic in their eyes when they met Tinkerbell for the first time. Reviewing my photos at the end of the night was always so fun to look back and see the memories I captured!


3. Meeting new people

While meeting guests was a great experience, I had the best time making friends with the other CPs I worked and lived with! I got to hang out with people from all over the country and even around the world!


4. Secrets, Secrets, Secrets!

Alright, being in the college program does not make you Bob Iger, but I DID get to know some secrets (like which characters would be out for specialty meet-and-greets). Plus I basically lived in the "secret tunnels" under MK. (Yes, they are real!)


5. Fireworks every night

I guess this kind of goes along with free park entry, but truly nothing can beat Disney fireworks. 4th of July has been effectively ruined for me forever. #worthit


"Try the grey stuff, it's delicious!" -Lumiere, Beauty and the Beast

There are so many amazing foods to eat at Disney World, but this is not that list! These are the top 5 animated foods I've always wanted to try!


1. Aladdin's stolen loaf of bread

Maybe it's wrong that I want to eat stolen bread that has been dragged through the streets of a desert town by a monkey, but idk, just the way it looks when Abu takes that big bite out of it; it's always made me hungry!


2. Gus Gus's cheese

You know? Gus Gus? The fat mouse from Cinderella? Every time he shoved those little cheese triangles under his nose I couldn't help but crave them! Although I always imagined them being more like cheese chips than actual cheese.


3. The grey stuff!!!!!!!

This one is a bit of a cheat because I have tried the grey stuff! I've had it multiple times at Be Our Guest restaurant in Magic Kingdom. I must say, Lumiere was right.


4. Kronk's spinach puffs

I recently discovered a recipe and I am most definitely making them soon!


5. Mulan's breakfast porridge

I would be honored to have Mushu wake me up with breakfast that is happy to see me!



Honorable mentions include: Tony's spaghetti with meatballs (try it at Tony's on Main Street), Alice's "Eat Me" cookies, and Snow White's pie!


"Disneyland will never be completed. It will continue to grow as long as there is imagination left in the world." -Walt Disney

Can you guess my top 5 favorite Walt Disney World rides by these popular quotes?


1. "This here’s the wildest ride in the WILDERNESS!”

My all-time favorite Disney ride is Big Thunder Mountain Railroad in Magic Kingdom!!!


2. "Hey, how about some backstage passes!?"

You got it, Rock 'n' Roller Coaster in Hollywood Studios!


3. "We're not gonna make it, we're not gonna make it!! WE MADE IT!!!!!!"

If you go to Animal Kingdom and don't ride Dinosaur, did you really go to DAK?


4. "There's a great big beautiful tomorrow, shining at the end of every day!"

Tribute to Walt with the Tomorrowland Carousel of Progress.


5. “Please stand clear of the doors. Por favor manténganse alejado de las puertas.”

Please buy me a shirt with this Monorail quote, thank you.


"Tale as old as time, song as old as rhyme..." -Mrs. Potts, Beauty and the Beast

This is a list of what I believe to be the top 5 most INFLUENTIAL Disney songs. Not to be confused with my favorites; these are the songs I think best represent Disney's brand and that have impacted audiences the most over time.


1. When You Wish Upon a Star- Pinocchio

This song is on my list for obvious reasons! "When You Wish Upon a Star" has far exceeded it's purpose in Pinocchio and grown to represent Disney at it's core. This is the most-used song for marketing and shows, and it is even the melody introducing Disney's logo before their movies. You can't hear this song and not think of wonder and magic and dreams coming true! It absolutely makes the top of the list!


2. A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes- Cinderella

Very similar to "When You Wish...", this song has also become popular for Disney branding, especially since it is sung by Disney's un-official/official "main princess". Cinderella, with her ballgown, glass slippers, giant castle, grace, and charm has become an icon for the rest of the Disney princesses, therefore it is not unusual that her song has held influence throughout the years. (Read my thoughts on why Cinderella is the best princess here!)


3. You'll Be In My Heart- Tarzan

You know you're crying just thinking about it! Seriously this song is beautiful. It resonates with all audiences, plus, Phil Collins.


4. A Whole New World- Aladdin

As far as Disney love songs go, I think this is the winner. It is tough to compete with pieces like "So This is Love", "Beauty and the Beast", and "Can You Feel the Love Tonight", but I think that a duet between lovers while flying through the stars on a magic carpet just has something memorable and impactful about it like none of the others do. It's certainly the most whimsical and genuine of all the Disney love songs. (My opinion.)


5. "Let It Go"- Frozen

Personally I think the world needs to let this song go, but no one can deny the impact it's had on audiences emotionally, and profitably on Disney's markets. My toddlers who can't even talk yet know every word to this song, and I guess that counts for........ something? Haha


“I never called my work an ‘art’. It’s part of show business, the business of building entertainment.” -Walt Disney

During my time in Disney I had the pleasure of seeing many shows! If you haven't seen any of these I highly recommend either going on a vacation soon or looking them up on YouTube! Here are my top 5 favorite Walt Disney World shows:


1. Wishes (MK)

I'm already crying. "Wishes" was the show you saw when you were 5, it's the show you loved even when you were "too cool" to be at Disney as a teenager, and it's the show you wept at with your kids on your shoulders as an adult. It was my first glimpse at my future home, the first time I saw Disney fireworks with my new CP roommates, a first dance on a first date once upon a time.... ugh! The most fantastic, magical things can happen, and it all started with "Wishes"! #GenieIWishForYourFreedom


2. Happily Ever After (MK)

Now that I've dried my eyes, I'm ready to burst with excitement over the show that replaced "Wishes": "Happily Ever After"! This show was especially special for me because it was the first time I got to be present for a big Disney premiere! I worked all through the months leading up to the show's unveiling and it was quite an exciting time. This show is the definition of "spectacle" being jam-packed with castle animation, HUGE fireworks and tear-inducing music.


3. Frozen Sing-Along Celebration (HS)

LOL, I know, after that last list you're shaking your head at me. BUT HEAR ME OUT! The first time I went to this, I was dragged in. But let me tell you that this show was made for the parent who is sick of Frozen AND the kid who loves it! If you've never seen it, I wouldn't wanna take away that experience from you. So here's a link! Enjoy ;)


4. Fantasmic (HS)

"Fantasmic" is the perfect blend of everything you love about Disney. It has animation, all of your favorite characters, actors swinging across the sky, fireworks, a dragon, neon monkeys- what more could you want?! This was my go-to show for date nights, post-work, or just a regular Tuesday night. The

energy of the crowd in the open amphitheater gives it a unique vibe, and the story combines all of the nostalgia of old Disney with modern characters and stories. But get there early because the best part of this show is the pre-show music! (Spotify playlist HERE, you're welcome.)


5. Celebrate the Magic (MK)

Okay so I have only seen this show once in person as it was retired by the time I worked at WDW, but the thing I loved about "Celebrate..." was it's devotion to Walt Disney as a man and a creator, and his legacy with Mickey and the parks. The same is true of "Dream Along with Mickey". I am a sap for nostalgia and tributes!


Honorable mentions include: Festival of Fantasy Parade (MK), Finding Nemo the Musical (DAK), Disney's Electrical Parade (MK), Dream Along with Mickey (MK), Festival of the Lion King (DAK), and the Drum Circle Show in Pandora (DAK)


“If you wear a dress and have an animal sidekick, you're a princess.” -Maui, Moana

A princess is nothing without her animal sidekick, Aladdin may have never gotten a chance to prove his worth without Genie, and Frozen would have failed at the box office without Sven and Olaf! (Probably not....) These are my top 5 Disney sidekicks!


1. Mushu from Mulan

Mulan is in my top 5 favorite Disney movies and Mushu is the reason it even comes close to making the cut! He's hilarious, heartfelt, and ironically the main catalyst to almost every plot point. Mushu is more than comic relief, he is a true friend and a genuine character. Plus I can relate to his Lucille Ball-styled life.


2. Genie from Aladdin

There are no words. Other than 'Robin Williams'. I could honestly write an entire blog post dedicated to how much I love Genie and why, but for now I will just stick with Robin Williams and leave it at that.


3. Jaq from Cinderella

Jaq is the most honest, sweet, adorable, lovable, determined, loyal sidekick in all of Disney! He has a huge heart for Cinderella and would do anything for the people (and animals) he loves. Bonus points if you loved him in Cinderella II!


4. Lumiere and Cogsworth from Beauty and the Beast

I consider these two a matched set! They are just so cute and funny together. I love their friendship even when they bicker, and I love their bickering!


5. Tinkerbell from Peter Pan

Here we go again. I could write a literal novel on my love for Tink. But I must give a disclaimer that my love for Tinkerbell in the Disney movie was 100% formed and shaped out of my love for Tink in the book/play. It's not her sass, confidence, or even style that makes me love her. It's her complete devotion to Peter no matter what odds they face. In a way she is tragic, choosing to love and save someone repeatedly who can only think in terms of his own needs. And when she passes away in the book, Peter can't even bother to remember her only a year later. Tinkerbell is strong and courageous and deserves so much more than Peter gives her, but she is fearlessly devoted, to the point of drinking poison for him.

Then on a Dis-level, I love how she grew from a nothing little pixie with no pull or stardom to become a Disney icon and the second most identifiable character after Mickey Mouse himself!

"I knew when I met you an adventure was going to happen." -Pooh, Winnie the Pooh

For my final list, I want to share the top 5 characters you should meet when visiting Walt Disney World!


1. Gaston

This guy is hysterical. I didn't make a villains list (yet), but if I did Gaston is my #1. As horrible as he is, it's always hilarious to meet him! He is quick with one-liners and comebacks, and his...er...physique allows him some great slapstick comedy! Often I would just stand and watch him meet with other guests because he was so over-the-top in his interactions. #EXTRA


2. Tinkerbell

Obviously my girl is on this list! I had the pleasure of working with Tink often so I

can verify that she is worth the line. Not only is Tink herself an experience, but before her interaction you go through a pixie dust room to shrink down to her size! Everything in her room becomes HUGE, which makes the whole interaction all the more fun! She is spunky and sweet and it's nice to be small enough to hear her voice ;) Plus she gives great photos.


3. Mickey Mouse (in Town Square Theater on Main Street)

While you're in Town Square visiting Tink, it's only a few feet to walk over to Mickey's line! I can't tell you why meeting Mickey in this particular location is so special, you'll just have to find out for yourself. But honestly any time spent with the boss is well-worth the wait! He loves his guests and will always make sure you are taken care of and feel loved when you're with him.


4. Buzz and Woody

These two meet together in Hollywood Studios outside of their ride. The line is long and often not fun, but it is so worth it! Not only are you getting two interactions for the wait-time of one, but it's Buzz and Woody! They have a ton of energy and lots of jokes. They are funny and always made me laugh, plus they give great hugs and take memorable photos. (Honorable mention here to Baymax in Epcot who gives THE BEST HUGS FOR REAL in all of Disney, definitely go meet him too!)


5. Speciality characters from Fantasmic

I told you "Fantasmic" is a great show! Here is a little fun-fact most people don't know: a few hours before "Fantasmic" begins, there is often a secretish, hiddenish meet-and-greet area in Hollywood Studios where rare characters from the show such as Bert and Mary, the Evil Queen, Dopey, and others are standing for photos and signing autographs. Because they are hidden, there is almost no line to meet them!! These characters are almost never available outside of holidays and specialty events, and it's random who will show up so you could meet someone new each time! You're welcome friends.


"We didn't even realize we were making memories, we just knew we were having fun." -Pooh, Winnie the Pooh

And there you have them! My Top 5 lists for everything Disney! I hope you've enjoyed this post despite it's length and I hope that you comment your own Top 5 lists below! I'd love to hear your thoughts.


Until next time,

Gabby

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page